The Louisiana Folklife Commission is appointed by the Governor to advise the Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism and other relevant state agencies on public policy to aid in the identification and preservation of traditional communities in Louisiana. To see the legislation creating the commission, see here

To see the minutes of the last meeting and the agenda of the next meeting, click here or go to the Louisiana Boards and Commissions database for more details and records.

* Legislative appointment category in parentheses


Teresa Parker Farris, Tulane University (University)

Vice Chair

Susan Roach, Louisiana Tech University (University)


Erik Kreusch, Jean Lafitte National Historic Park and Preserve (Jean Laffite NHPP)

Executive Committee

Ray Berthelot, Office of State Parks (State Parks)

Brian M. Davis, West Monroe (Louisiana Trust for Historic Preservation)

Karen Leathem, Louisiana State Museum (State Museum)

John T. Sharp, Lafayette (Louisiana Folklore Society)


Kevin Billiot, Intertribal Council of Louisiana (Intertribal Council--ex-officio)

Cynthia Bryant, Southern University (University)

Cheryl Castille, Louisiana Division of the Arts (Division of the Arts)

Steven Fullen, Atchafalaya National Heritage Area (Office of Tourism)

Herman Fuselier, Opelousas (At Large Representative)

Jennifer Ritter Guidry, Dillard University (University)

Tommy Ike Hailey, Natchitoches (Louisiana Folklife Society)

Rebecca Hamilton, State Library (State Librarian-ex-officio)

Jim Hogg, Prairieville (At Large Representative)

Charles (Chip) McGimsey, Division of Archaeology (Archaeology)

Miranda Restovic, Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities (LA Endowment for the Humanities-ex-officio)

Jessica G. Richardson, Division of Historic Preservation (Historic Preservation)

Kimberly Walden, Chitimacha Tribe (At Large Representative)

Melissa Yarborough, Baton Rouge (At Large Representative)

vacant-Louisiana State Arts Council representative